The Pencil is Mightiest When it is Sharp!

Here we go on the new year with homeschooling! We have started off the new year with a bang and a fabulous set of sharp new pencils. 🙂 Any teachers out there, and homeschooling mamas (or dads!), can probably identify with the difficulty of finding a pencil sharpener that reliably works and does a really good job of getting your pencils sharp without being lopsided or sharpening until the tip actually falls out. I have been through several manual and electric sharpeners but still find myself frustrated. And don’t get me started on the cranky complaining of my little ones when I badger them to get a better pencil and they can’t seem to comply!

Our new pencil sharpener!

Our new pencil sharpener!

I am pleased to announce that I think my problems are over! I have been trying out this fabulous sharpener from Classroom Friendly Supplies for the past few weeks. It is a manual sharpener but it is far superior to my current options, electric or otherwise.

Beautiful sharp tips!

Beautiful sharp tips!

Here are the pros:

-It is easy and quick to use.

-It sharpens to a perfect tip without breaking.

-The tip is even all the way around.

-It holds the pencil for you!

-It has a bin that is super easy to empty.

-It is less expensive than most electric options.

-It comes in all different colors!

Easy to put in and work for the little ones.

Easy to put in and work for the little ones.

Here are the cons:

-I haven’t found any yet! I just have to see how it will hold up over time but it seems very well made and sturdy so I suspect that it will last very well. (I think this makes the pros list doesn’t it?)

So the short answer is: this is a wonderful pencil sharpener that I will readily recommend!

What shall they write first?

What shall they write first?

I hope all you homeschoolers are having a good start to the year and feel free to share any new tips or tricks that you are trying out.

Peace and health,

Jennifer

*Disclaimer: I received this pencil sharpener for free for the purposes of testing and review but all opinions are completely mine. I will never recommend a product that I don’t love and use in my own home.

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Learning activies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Pencil is Mightiest When it is Sharp!

  1. Stephen says:

    I may get one of these for my work desk. I still use pencils at work and encounter the problems you described with electric sharpeners, which are a necessity when sharpening 500 for mass testing. For personal desk use I would prefer the manual type you just reviewed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

