Personal Paradise – Repurposed Furniture

My personal paradise!

My personal paradise!

It’s Personal Paradise Tuesday! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. Here we enjoyed some good family time together and it was great. 🙂

For today’s installment I am smiling about a furniture repurpose. When we moved into this house we had a mostly unfinished basement. We are now up to an almost half-finished basement. Of course in the process of finishing new spaces there has been a  bunch of furniture shifting: Moving some, using some, changing some. Suddenly, I found myself with a cubby-style shelf that we weren’t using for anything. Well I now have a good use for it!

In our dining room I was keeping this little metal cart. As we are pursuing our bilingual adventures (updates on that soon!), I take any opportunity to snatch up french books and magazines at a good price. Our collection started out small and I wanted it right in the middle of our high traffic areas so they would get frequently used. Since we “do school” a lot at the dining room table, plus being in there so much since the kids are constantly eating, I put this little wire rack in the dining room and it was stacked neatly, about half full, with our french resources.

This cute little thing served a purpose for a while.

This cute little thing served a purpose for a while.

That was then and this is now! We have been lucky in many acquisitions and our collection was falling all over the place!

One day I was in the basement and when glancing over this shelf I thought it just might be flexible enough to use for our french stuff. Here’s the result:

Gorgeous and so well organized!

Gorgeous and so well organized!

I even had a spare bin or two so these hold flash cards and a few french toys. I didn’t have to buy anything new yet and it works great for now. It’s also a height that the little ones can reach so they can enjoy the language exposure.

So many books! And many include CDs.

So many books! And many include CDs.

We have quite a number of french children's magazines now. :)

We have quite a number of french children’s magazines now. 🙂

I wonder how long it will be before we out grow this shelf? 😉

How about you? Any repurposed items or great finds lately?

Peace and health,

Jennifer

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in bilingual living, frugal finds, home skills, Homeschooling, Learning activies, Paradise Moments, Reading and reflecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

