Sunset Saturday Café – Does your eye behold beauty?

Join me for a refreshing drink and a chat?

Join me for a refreshing drink and a chat?

Happy Saturday Friends! I happy to resume these Saturday posts. I have so many things that I have been working on lately. If you have followed me for a while you know that this has been quite the summer for projects around here. In addition to home improvements, appliance repair, canning, and diy stuff, I have also been sewing a little again. We have also had the chance to see and do a variety of fun things over the last couple of months. In the process of enjoying life and family time I have been playing around with taking some fun photos. Mind you, I am no real photographer. But I enjoy a photo that tells a story or shows a bit of beauty or personality. So while I know practically nothing about photography I have been lucky enough to get a few pretty shots lately.

this beauty is in the bushes outside of Mr. T's preschool

this beauty is in the bushes outside of Mr. T’s preschool

In looking over the beauties that I liked I got to thinking about how we view the world. Some of my favorite photos from the last month were located in a place where you wouldn’t naturally think to find such a jewel. But with the correct focus and crop the view can be completely transformed. A new way of looking around me has started to emerge.

I didn't realize how pretty these flowers are outside of our pediatrician's office!

I didn’t realize how pretty these flowers are outside of our pediatrician’s office!

A week or so later I was visiting a friend. Just standing there at her kitchen sink, looking out the window over her sink. So often we look at our own surroundings and just see the untidy room, the spotted sink, or the piles of laundry. When I looked at my friends kitchen window I saw all the little touches she placed there that gave her pleasure.

What a lovely way to catch the sunlight!

What a lovely way to catch the sunlight!

The things that she found pretty and inspiring. The things she created to make her house a loving home that encouraged her family.

Don't you love how the pink and blue look together?

Don’t you love how the pink and blue look together?

I might have confused her when she came back in the room and found me taking pictures of her kitchen, but why not? If beauty is really in the eye of the beholder, why can’t it be found anywhere?

Items of personal relevance really create a home like atmosphere :)

Items of personal relevance really create a home like atmosphere 🙂

Now just to reassure you – I did obtain her permission to post these pictures here. I don’t want my friends being afraid that I will run around your homes taking pictures of your laundry piles or messy beds 🙂

So I will leave you with a project for the week: look around and see something you haven’t before. Or maybe in a way that you haven’t. Take a picture – digital or just mental. See what you might have missed and let it change your perspective. I hope that it gives you peace, happiness, pleasure, or maybe just a great big laugh!

As always, feel free to share your perspectives – I would love it. 🙂

peace and health,

Jennifer

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunset Saturday Café – Does your eye behold beauty?

  1. Christopher Pohl says:

    I remember when you made a camera for the science fair in grade school. It was so simple yet so amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

