Pop, pop! A beautiful homesteading sound!

Hi all! My, my have I been busy this week! (don’t I always say that?)  We have done some fun things this week and there is much more fun in store.

What I’m working on:

Recently I shared with you all the incredible bounty that we have harvested so far from our berry bushes, and trees and tonight I am sitting here listening to the happy sound of my jars popping in the kitchen. I have processed most of the mulberries that I picked into some mulberry preserves and I am freezing the rest. It was a bit hot today to work over the stove but I’m sure I will appreciate it very soon. I am still pretty new to the whole canning/preserving experience so I’m always worried that I’m going to screw it up and the jars won’t seal. That translates to me feeling so happy and triumphant when I start hearing the “pop, pop” of the lids sealing! I hope to finish the raspberries tomorrow!

My pretty preserves! See the clover? That is from my girl who brings me some kind of flower almost every day :)

My pretty preserves! See the clover? That is from my girl who brings me some kind of flower almost every day 🙂

What I’m reading:

I have several books I’m reading right now – even more than usual! But I wanted to share with you the one that I am particularly enjoying right now. It is titled: “What Would Audrey Do? Timeless Lessons for Living with Grace and Style” by Pamela Keogh. It is a fun, lighthearted read with lots of wonderful tips on creating style and beauty in your life based on Audrey Hepburn’s life and style. It does romanticize Audrey Hepburn and her life to a great extreme, but really, who doesn’t romanticize Audrey Hepburn at least a little? I think there is much to gain from this book and it encompasses the idea that one can be stylish and beautiful with a very few thoughtful touches. I would even say that it would be a fun book to read with the girls in your life who are entering the teen years. Check it out – tell me what do you think?

My quiet, cozy corner for a late night read. And a sweet snack too!

My quiet, cozy corner for a late night read. And a sweet snack too!

If you would:

Spare a few prayers for those affected by the River Valley Ranch storm disaster. Our thoughts and prayers go out to the families and friends of those who were injured, killed, or traumatized.

Also I ask for your prayers for a few friends who are working with illnesses right now.

Please feel free to share your thoughts, responses, and even prayer requests with me – I want to hear from you!

Peace and health,

Jennifer

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in Food and Recipes, Gardening, Reading and reflecting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

