Personal Paradise Tuesday – Could this be a magic cure for the flu??

My personal paradise

My personal paradise

Sadly, this past week or so we have all been suffering with various colds, fevers, and upset tummies. In the midst of illness it is easy to throw good eating habits to the wayside but of course that does not actually help us heal and recover. So today I thought I would share one of my favorite recipes. A few years ago when my family was battling the flu I made this and I thought we had hit the healing food jackpot. If made us feel so much better that I am convinced it has the best of all the good healing food properties. It is delicious and wholesome and very smooth tasting. For those who like a little more zip on their tongues, more ginger and garlic can be added but it is very flavorful without being overpowering. So without further ado…

Ginger Carrot Soup

3 lbs carrots, peeled and sliced

1 medium onion

3tbsp grated ginger

3 cloves  garlic

3 tbsp olive oil

7 cups vegetable broth

2 cups heavy cream (or coconut milk)

salt and pepper to taste

   Sauté onions, ginger, and garlic in oil until tender. Add carrots and broth tot he pot and simmer until carrots are very tender. Let soup cool a bit, then purée using an immersion blender or transfer to a blender. Return puréed soup to the pot and add cream. Warm the soup and add salt and pepper as desired.

Enjoy!!

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

