Personal Paradise Tuesday – Have you made mud pies lately?

They look like they are having fun don’t they?

Today I am thinking thankful thoughts about mud! Stick with me here (hee, hee – sorry!), but although winter is still in full force I am starting to have a hint of spring thoughts. Why is this? Well last night as I was leaving the house for some evening errands I realized that it was still light out. Slightly, but lighter than it had been at that hour for some time. Yay! My heart sang as I felt the reality of the idea that winter will not last forever. Therefore, here I am thinking about milder weather and playing in the garden; spring rains when the kids inevitably come in from outside with muddy shoes and pants; and the excitement of new growing things.

I always think that winter is a wee bit long, but I think this winter I have struggled more than some with a general shortage of hope. When tragedy and loss  creep up on us unexpectedly and threaten to unsettle the peaceful soul, it is a great relief to have a tangible, physical reminder of rebirth and the constant, cycling of nature’s rhythms. I know I will have many cold, dreary days to get through before any real sign of spring but I hope this peek has given me enough encouragement to get through the rest of this season with more pep in my step.

So today I will insist upon a walk, no matter how short, in the rainy, drippy, muddy weather we are set to have and revel in the messes. And the best part of all will be a hot bath to remind me that while mud may happen – especially in a world with many children and pets – it just makes the clean feel that much better!!

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in encouragement, Gardening, Natural Living, Paradise Moments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

