Sunset Café Saturday

back deck photo

     Well I’m back on my deck to check in while I enjoy my mug of goodness. This was a busy week for the Rising Eden clan. Mostly just the usual routine but I was stuck doing a bunch of running around – most of which I didn’t want to do. 🙂 But, as they say, grin and bear it. So the good news of the week: I do not have to spend hundreds of dollars on car repairs – yet. Bad news: I did not get all my extra apples processed yet. I have a rather large mountain of apples that are still waiting to become something yummy before they are beyond help. Fortunately, I did cook up a bunch of them and turned them into warm, gooey apples ‘n cinnamon with we promptly ate up in one day. So this week is apple time.

    After reflecting on our week I am reminded of how often life with little people in the mix can change and get complicated when we least expect (or want) it to. I was pretty much successful at getting a hot, relatively healthy dinner on the table each night in spite of our running around but that is not always the case. So if you are looking for a tip or focus for getting ahead this week, make you life easier by a little bit of pre-planning. There are many ways this can be accomplished. Often the best thing to start with is meal planning. So for this week, take a moment this weekend and plan out at least your dinners. If you can have at least some loose guidelines for breakfasts and lunches too than you are really on the ball! If you have managed all that, try to squeeze in prepping one extra meal to then put in the freezer so you can have something easy for those days that are just impossible to manage. In addition to my apple preserving I am also going to make more bread this weekend. The down side to the family loving the bread I made? It’s been gone since yesterday. Those poor four loaves didn’t even make it through the rest of the week. (Of course if one of your littles sneaks up to the kitchen early one morning and chomps down almost half a loaf by himself in less than one hour…At least it wasn’t candy, right?)

So for anyone who wants some inspiration, here is my meal plan for the week:

Sunday

breakfast: bagels with eggs and cheese

                 dinner: hot dogs/hamburgers, homemade red potato salad, and sugar snap peas

Monday

breakfast: muffins!

dinner: ravioli, salad, and bread

Tuesday

breakfast: oatmeal

                     dinner: spinach artichoke dip and crackers (this awesome dip is a meal in itself and is always a hit at parties                                                                    that I take it to. We indulge in it for dinner once in a blue moon)

Wednesday

breakfast: mixed fruit and toast

     dinner: homemade pizza and salad

Thursday

breakfast: oatmeal

                       dinner: oven fried chicken, salad, and perhaps a bean or rice side dish

Friday

breakfast: hard-boiled eggs and toast

                 dinner: parmesan crusted salmon sticks, salad, challah

Saturday

breakfast: pancakes

                      dinner: cheese enchiladas and salad

*Our lunches this week will consist of sandwiches, salad, or leftovers from dinner. I also usually plan some kind of treat or two to make for the week. This time it is banana cake and/or carrot cake cookies. Yummy!

     Feel free to share with me how you are setting yourself up for success this week. Be inspired!!

About risingeden

Please feel free to contact me with questions or comments to share!
This entry was posted in Family life, Food and Recipes, inspiration, organization and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunset Café Saturday

  1. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

